For the past five and a half years, I’ve been mainly home raising my children. When Ari was born I made a decision to stay home with him so that I wouldn’t miss a thing. I saw him crawl, walk and talk.

When Ari turned one I began substitute teaching. A few months later, I started transcribing for reality television. The teaching was flexible and I could do it when my parents were available to watch Ari. Transcription I could do from home and was also fairly flexible, although deadlines were tight.

My life has changed now, and I’m in need of a more steady income. I need to find a full time job.

The challenge is this: my resume looks like an impressionist painting. It’s full of varying jobs. From working at a veterinary hospital to being a vocational rehabilitation counselor to becoming a substitute teacher.

I’ve had many jobs, but I’ve never had a career.

At this point in my life, it’s time to decide on a career and pursue it. As a Libra, I tend to be indecisive. But once I make up my mind it’s unmovable. It’s just getting to that point where I make a decision that’s tough.

The question is, what do I want to be when I grow up?

I know I want to do something creative.

I’d love to teach theater to kids. I looked into it, and the drama license from New York City Department of Education for theater is for Kindergarten through 12th grade. So that’s an option. But that requires having the Department of Education evaluate my transcript and more coursework, so that’s not an immediate option.

I need to find a job in the interim that allows me to use my creativity but also pays the bills.

Any ideas?